Shards with scenes from the life of recommender system

CERAMICS, 
approx. 57x45 cm, 2021

The “Shards with Scenes from Recommender System Life” were created in collaboration with the Schlossmuseum Linz on the subject of Gmundner Ceramics. The basis of this work is the faience vessel "Jug with scenes from the shoemaker's life" from 1750, which shows scenes with a visual representation of the skills and crafts of a shoemaker between stylised flower patterns.
In today's society, the image of a craftsman is rather blurry, as it was 270 years ago. According to official information, the number of shoemakers in the handicraft sector in Upper Austria can now be counted on the fingers of one hand. On the other hand, in the last 10 years and during the lockdown imposed due to the pandemic, consumers have increasingly turned to the digital environment when searching for goods. Unlike in the 18th century, the manufacturer or craftsman no longer plays a central role here. The sales of the mega-internet company Amazon increased by 38% during the pandemic. The largest online shops use software systems that are designed as an automated recommendation service. They are based on algorithms that aim to calculate and predict the interests of the consumer in advance and accordingly offer exactly the products that the consumer would potentially buy most closely.
The "Shards with scenes from the recommender system life" complement the historical Gmundner ceramics flower pattern with scenes of shoe and clothing offers, which were generated by Amazon's recommender system. The data for this system comes from Linda Luse's Amazon account sales history, collected by Amazon over the past 5 years. Screenshots of the offers were collected and arranged in patterns and transferred to ceramic plates.

Scherben mit Szenen aus dem Recommender- Systemleben

KERAMIK, 
ca. 57x45 cm, 2021

Die „Scherben mit Szenen aus dem Recommender-Systemleben“ sind in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schlossmuseum Linz zum Thema Gmundner Keramik entstanden. Grundlage dieser Arbeit ist das Fayence-gefäß „Krug mit Szenen aus dem Schusterleben“ aus dem Jahr 1750, welche Szenen mit einer visuellen Darstellung des Geschicks eines Schusters und seines Handwerkers zwischen stilisierten Blumenmustern zeigt.
In der heutigen Gesellschaft ist das Bild eines Handwerkers entsprechend so wie vor 270 Jahren ziemlich verschwommen. Nach offiziellen Angaben kann man in Oberösterreich heutzutage die Zahl der Schuster im Handwerkssektor an den Fingern einer Hand abzählen. Auf der anderen Seite wendet sich der Konsument in den letzten 10 Jahren und während des Aufgrund der Pandemie verhängten Lockdown bei der Warensuche verstärkt dem digitalen Umfeld zu. Der Hersteller, oder Handwerker spielt hier anders als im 18.Jh. keine zentrale Rolle mehr. Der Umsatz des Megainternetkonzerns Amazon stieg während der Pandemie um 38 %. Die größten Online-Shops nutzen Softwaresysteme, welche als automatisierter Empfehlungsdienst ausgelegt sind. Sie basieren auf Algorithmen, die darauf abzielen, die Interessen des Verbrauchers im Voraus zu berechnen und vorherzusagen und dementsprechend genau die Produkte anzubieten, welche der Verbraucher potenziell am ehesten kaufen würde.
Die "Scherben mit Szenen aus dem Recommender-Systemleben" ergänzen die historischen Gmundner Keramik Blumenmuster mit Szenen von Schuh- und Bekleidungsangeboten, welche von Amazons Recommendersystem generiert wurden. Die Daten für dieses System stammen aus der Verkaufshistorie des Amazon-Kontos von Linda Luse, gesammelt von Amazon in den letzten 5 Jahren. Screenshots der Angebote wurden gesammelt und in Mustern angeordnet auf Keramikplatten übertragen.